King (IDN, 2009)

After I watched Ping Pong, I’m curious about Badminton movie. Badminton is one of popular sports in Indonesia and the one that made Indonesian proud because there are notable world champions from our country (though that isn’t likely again now, sigh). So, bought its original DVD: KING. Directed by Ari Sihasale, does the movie succeed bringing the speed and powerful smash to the screen? Here is my review.

>> This review is posted for World Cinema Series 2013. Check more movie reviews from all around the world and join the crowd by visit the page here. <<

synopsis

Guntur (Rangga Raditya) is an ordinary kid from village in Banyuwangi who lives an ordinary life. Well, not quite ordinary, since he is the “victim” of his father and friend obsession. His father (Mamiek Prakoso) treated him hard (mentally) because he wants Guntur to be a badminton champion like Liem Swie King, while Raden (Lucky Martin), his friend, pushed him to take part in local match by suggesting that he’ll have a lot of money if he wins.

After learning that his efforts on winning the local match only brought him trouble, he became mad to his father and Raden and never care about badminton anymore. However, his father and Raden have secrets that Guntur doesn’t know it, yet…

personal view

No, please, don’t take my synopsis to “suspense” level. He he. As a family movie with children as its audience target, the plot is so so-so for me. At times, I wish that Guntur’s father and Raden’s secret hold the key of the plot. I patiently waited to see Guntur’s match, to see what’s behind his father reason on insisting Guntur to “forget” his mother, to see Raden “took” the dream that Guntur has left, only to see… all my expectation answered with no climax at all. The message of the movie is also told bluntly for my taste.

There are also many repetitive plot and filler scenes that made me bored in the middle. Raden’s ideas to give proper badminton racquet for Guntur never varied from time to time and seeing friendship play-time between Guntur, Raden, and the new girl from city (I even didn’t care about her name, wew) with beautiful scenery as background didn’t brought great impact for me.

Maybe I’m too old to watch this? Or maybe I’m biased after watched Ping-Pong? However, I think this movie is fine to watch with your children or younger brother/sister.

personal favorites

Maybe… maybe… Guntur’s qualification match with the kid from the same club as one of requirements before being accepted into a famous badminton academy? I like how the director/story writer decided to make the scene didn’t fall to the cliché of how a hero always had goddess of fortune on his side.

personal score

Okay, the story could have been better with utilizing the twists to an unpredictable ending (2,5*). The main character failed to make me rooting for him (2,5*). The use of ethnic sound to enrich the music is okay (it made Aksan Sjuman and Titi Sjuman won the FFI* award as the best music arranger) but didn’t amazed me (3.0*). Beautiful sceneries are here, but there is no great scene that captured the thrill of a badminton match (3,0*).  The opening is promising but the ending left me unsatisfied (3,0*).

Okay, I think I’ll give the movie 2,8 points. It’s a light family movie to pass your Sunday, but not memorable.

1,0 – 1,9 = Honestly, I don’t think anyone will like it.
2,0 – 2,9 = You may see it, if you have nothing else to do.
3,0 – 3,9 = IMHO, it’s entertaining to watch. Try to see it.
4,0 – 4,9 = Must See!!!
5,0         = Absolutely Superb!!!

* FFI stands for Festival Film Indonesia; an event like Academy Award in US.

5 thoughts on “King (IDN, 2009)

  1. Too bad that this wasn’t better. I’m not into sports but actually quite like badminto so a god movie on that topic would have been great.
    I’m glad you reviewed it though. I’ve never seen an Idonesian movie so it might still be an option.

    1. Hi, Caroline. As far as I know, there was no Badminton movie before King (please correct me if I`m wrong ^^) while on the other hand, most of Indonesian movies deal with romance, horror, and comedy. Thus, hearing about this sport movie made me curious. I’m looking forward for your opinion if you had the chance to watch King. Thanks for commenting.🙂

  2. Ah too bad😦
    I thought when I clicked the link I will read a good movie. I kinda need a recommendation for Indonesia Movie. people said that Ucok movie is really good….maybe I should try that.

    Nice review Dhitz🙂

    1. Yeah, I struggled to finish watching it last year. It is a promising movie, but it failed as there is no significant event that develop Guntur’s character that will made me aware about his determination (just practice and practice: it is repetitive)😦 Anyway, there are people that like the movie and the main character, Nov. So the movie may not great for me, but it may work for others. Thanks for commenting.🙂

Your Comment Will Make My Day :)

