[Top 5] Moms in Mangas

Hi, there. How’s your March so far? As first post of this month, I’d like to list Five Unique Moms in Mangas – of course – in my opinion. Hm, why discussing mothers? Well, my mother is having her birthday this month, I’d like to dedicated a post for her. ^^ Anyway, care to read this? Let us start the list, shall we?

From Left to Right: Shuko, Mrs. Takano, Kikyo, Misae, and Bellemere. All images acquired through googling and all characters’ copyright(s) are not mine. They belong to their manga authors and/or manga publishers and/or other copyright holder (s), if any.

Shuko Suzuhara – Shy Mom

Mother of Misaki Suzuhara from Angelic Layer
My Reading Status: Complete.

Imagine that your mom is too shy. This person, she’d rather run than to meet the one she loves. Ahaha, wonder what happened to her marriage with her husband. ^^ However, shy Shuko only happens in the manga. Angelic Layer anime has more reasonable story on why this mother and daughter have to live separately.

Mrs. Takano – who hates her handsome son

Mother of Kyohei Takano from Yamato Nadeshiko Shichi Henge
My Reading Status: Vol. 12. Am not going to continue it, yet.

Many moms will be so proud of her handsome sons or beautiful daughters. However, Mrs. Takano doesn’t share the same opinion. She felt tortured by his “extremely shining” son. She felt that her life is a mess, always deals with Kyohei fans and stalkers, plus all troubles that follow.

Kikyo Zoldyck – Possesive Mom

Mother of Killua (and other brothers) from Hunter X Hunter
My Reading Status: Read few volumes of  “Chimera Ant” arc. Prefer to watch the anime instead (complete until Greed Island Final).

Wife of Silva and part of an assasins family. She has a view that Zoldyck family is exclusive, and no one would and can befriend them.  She expects Killua to be her husband successor, that is why she really up against Killua’s wish to go and experience the outside world as a normal kid.

Misae Nohara – Stress Mom

Mother of Nohara Shinnosuke and Nohara Himawari from Crayon Shin-chan
My Reading Status: Not A Fan, but I’ve watched few episodes.

Can’t blame her. Shin-chan is definitely a trouble maker.😀

Bellemere – Cool Mom

Mother of Nami and Nojiko from One Piece
My Reading Status: Vol. 13. Not going to continue it, yet.

A retired navy soldier that dedicated herself to be a mother. Even though she is not Nami and Nojiko’s real mother , her love to her adopted daughters is unquestionable. For me, her story is the most touching event, as far as I read One Piece.

That’s all.😀 Haha, this is short post, eh?😉 Btw, this post is also my entry to Hello Japan!’s March topic: manga. If you like to join this fun-to-know-more-about-Japan challenge, feel free to visit Tanabata’s site and read the rules here.

9 thoughts on “[Top 5] Moms in Mangas

  1. Thanks for joining in Hello Japan! for March. What a great idea to focus on moms in manga in honour of your own mom.🙂
    I haven’t read any of these, but just goes to show that like real life, there are moms of all kinds.

    1. Thank you for visiting, Tanabata-san.🙂
      Yup, one of fascinating thing about reading manga is knowing many unique characters. There are fictional characters that are would likely never exists in real world, but sometimes, there are ones that we can meet in the real world too.🙂

    1. What is/are genre(s) that you like? Four of mangas I mentioned here is shonen manga (even though Angelic Layer is a bit of shojo, but it is serialized in magazine for boys), and only Perfect Girl Evolution that is shojo.
      Hunter X Hunter and One Piece is a good adventure series (I only catch up with HxH latest OVA right now, but probably I’m going to continue reading OP).
      Thanks for visiting.🙂

    1. I like manga, but nowadays, there aren’t many manga that caught my attention. I’d rather to watch the live action first, then decide to read the manga or not.🙂
      Thanks for visiting.

  2. Yeaaa…you join the challenge too🙂

    I didn’t know those 3 moms…but the last 2 are my favorite. i am such a big fan of both Shinchan and OnePiece.

    Misae is a really strong mother…to have a son like Shinchan is really tiresome. Since you only read OP till volume 13,you are missing more wonderful moms in OP. Ace’s mom was full of love, Robin’s mom was so patriotic,etc.

    It is a nice idea to write about moms for hello japan🙂

    1. Yes, Misae is definitely strong and… have a “big patience” too ^^ It is Shinchan’s mother anyway.

      *Shin-chaaaaaan

      I’ve read about Ace’s and Robin’s mother in OP Wikia, kinda curious about them. I wonder if I can catch up the latest volume if I start to read OP again now.;)

Your Comment Will Make My Day :)

