Hanazakari no Kimitachi e (JPN, 2007)

If you ask me about which dorama is being overrated by fans? No doubt, I’ll answer Hanazakari no Kimitachi e (Hana Kimi). Yup, even though this dorama has flying colors in term of rating (Visit this site and you’ll find fans adore it and simply giving 9 to 10 star way too easily), I guess this dorama failed in keeping the main story arc as main interest. However, this is only my personal opinion. If you want to know why, you may read my review below.

Title – Hanazakari no Kimitachi e
Episodes – 12 episodes + 1 SP
Casts – Horikita Maki, Shun Oguri, Ikuta Toma, etc
Original Media – Hanazakari no Kimitachi e (manga) by Nakajo Hisaya

Synopsis

Ashiya Mizuki (Horikita Maki) has this mission: make Sano Izumi (Oguri Shun) get back to what he was, a high-jump champion. However, in order to get close to him, she must enroll as a student at Osaka High, a dorm-school which only accepts male students!!! Therefore, she disguises herself as one of Osaka High’s bishounens and declares herself as a boy. Will she survive sthere and makes Sano jumps again? Or, will her cover be blown sooner, as Umeda-sensei (Kamikawa Takaya) finally knows her identity?

Personal Notes and Favorites

I’ve watch My Boss My Hero before, and the idea of disguising true self in order to fill a “mission” still looks interesting. I’m hoping to see Mizuki trying hard to keep out everyone knowing about herself, since at MBMH, seeing Makio totally freaked out when his cover almost blown is really really funny.
At Hana Kimi, Mizuki is too way easily to be accepted as boy. Because of that, I don’t have the feeling that Mizuki is doing all her best to keep the mission complete as Makio does. The mission is also lack of meaning, since all she can do is just sweet talk or begging and all that she’s done is too cliché for me. There is no BIG moment that could change Sano Izumi’s decision. Their relationship is also not strong as what she has with Nakatsu (Ikuta Toma), who later becomes her best friend.

The ones that caught me interested are none other than Hana Kimi dorm boys’ funny moments. I loves how Kayashima Taiki (Yamamoto Yusuke) reading aura, I heart Tennouji-sama’s (Ishigaki Yuma) weak moments when he was with his Kanna (not to mention his underlings who hate his relationship, wahahahahaha), and I like Hibari (Iwasa Mayuko) and Masao’s (Kyo Nobuo) hard-to-believe-but-they-are-meant-to-be-together scenes. Yep, those are interesting.

The school itself is very unbelievable to be called a school. Hana Kimi lacks real school atmosphere where the student and teacher doing learning-teaching stuffs. (Yup, I know, there is an “exam” scene, but, still…). The principal who has this dream of “blossoming flowers” in her school, well, I think the dream is useless in the story because I’ve never seen her encouraging the student as much as I saw  Gokusen’s Yankumi or MBMH’s principal did. And, come on, you have festivals almost every episodes??? One more, how in the earth a school can accept  Mizuki without any “conspiration” as in MBMH (where the principal is the one who give the permission). I guess this dorama is too unbelievable in many terms.

While many fan services are all over episodes, lack of characterization goes to, respectively, Sano Izumi and Ashiya Mizuki. Yup, they are supposed to be our main hero and heroine, but I don’t sympathize them. Try to watch the dorama. You can see that most of the episodes, Sano and Mizuki always separate themselves from the crowd (just to be alone, together?). I just can’t find the bond between the dorm community to them. Comparing it to MBMH, Makio had many important roles to attach himself to the class. Mizuki and Sano? None! As a result, the ending is very very very cliche for me.

Personal Score

Idea and Story Development: 2,5*
Main arc story IS boring. The positive point of this dorama is its funny moments that are highly entertaining. The result? I fast-forward all about Sano-Mizuki things. Too much fanservice can also be irritating (I really not into girls in sexy bikinis as well as boys trying to cross-dress but end up like a group of whores. Do-ooh). This dorama is also too episodic, with almost (or always) a festival in each episode.

Casts and Characterization: 2*
Nothing really impressed me. Nothing. Shun is cool as always, but I can’t tell that his acting is good or bad. Horikita Maki is acting as a girl, not a boy where she is supposed to be.

Musics and Sounds: 3*
For BGM, my comment is same as above. The OP and ED are easy to listen. The ending, “Peach” keeps me humming every time I hear it.

Technique (Camera Style, Effect, Set Decoration, etc): 3*
Okay for a dorama with many slapstick humor in it ^^. Nice editing too.

Opening and Ending: 2*
The first episode is a promising one. Ashiya’s running and stuff, even though it is a little bit cheesy, I think her hard work is fine. After that, the main arc story is ruined, so the ending IS cliché in every way I see it. There are still many funny and cute moments, but still, not Sano-Mizuki things.

Overall Score: 2,5*

Note:
1,0 – 1,9 = Don’t even try to see it, ever!!!
2,0 – 2,9 = You may see it, on your own risk though.
3,0 – 3,9 = Entertaining to watch. Try to see it.
4,0 – 4,9 = Must See!!!
5,0         = Absolutely Superb!!!

More Infos

Hana Kimi at wikipedia.org
Hana Kimi (manga) at onemanga.com
Hana Kimi (dorama) at mysoju.com
Hana Kimi (dorama) at indowebster.web.id

The title screen pictures is presented here as illustration only. Hana Kimi and other related items are not mine, they belong to their copyright owner(s).🙂

6 thoughts on “Hanazakari no Kimitachi e (JPN, 2007)

  1. Bloody Monday? My Takeru Sato is there!!! Hehe, but I don’t know whether I’ll watch it or not since few people said good, but others said the action isn’t. But I want to see Takeru… Hohoho.

  2. I think, yes, you should watch MBMH again in the future. Me and my brothers are re-watching it for the second time. That is why I keep comparing it to Hana kimi and MBMH is more interesting in most parts. I’m looking forward for your 2nd time review then🙂

    1. Probably After I finished watching Bloody Monday…But I was so stupid!! I bought the 2nd, I better find the 1st one before watching it.

  3. Yup. Since the school is full of boys, there are hints about boys love/BL/yaoi stuffs. Oo… There is a scene where Nanba-sempai is kissed by his admirer (and, yes, his admirer is a boy T.T). And Nakatsu doesn’t mind to be a homosexual if Mizuki is a boy. Me too, I’m not into yaoi thing. Guess that is normal for not liking yaoi^^

  4. Hmmm I haven’t seen it yet despite all the good review from my j-comm friends…I just don’t like seeing yaoi scene no matter how simple it is.

    My Boss My Hero…that’s an awesome dorama, reading a bit of it makes me want to watch it again. Maybe I will one day, and rewrite the review in English (I haven’t dedicated my self in English when I wrote the review)

Your Comment Will Make My Day :)

